Edinburgh: Di Giorgio Caffe and Bar

Okay so I know Edinburgh isn’t exactly up the road if you live in Yorkshire but I had to write about this place. If you find yourself up there, it’s well worth a visit!

Walking back to my grandparents house from the botanical gardens, I was ready for lunch and spotted this place on the corner. It doesn’t look remarkably striking from the outside, but something was drawing me towards it, so we decided to give it a go. I’m so glad we did.

The first thing I noticed once inside was that it was deceptively larger than I had anticipated. The next thing was the counter full of divine looking sweet treats. I knew I was in the right place. Within seconds of entering, a smiley lady welcomed us and offered us a seat. Before we could take our coats off we heard the clunk of two complimentary glasses of water hitting the table. These glasses were regularly refilled by the staff. The decor was lovely; modern, crafty and homely. I nestled myself into the several scatter cushions on my bench seat and perused the menu. I chose the warm chicken salad and my husband chose the chicken and salami ciabatta with handcooked chips. Those chips were immense! Everything looked and tasted wonderful and filled the hole nicely. We both also ordered a hazelnut coffee. As you would expect in any Italian establishment worth it’s salt, the coffee was gorgeous.

What makes this place is the attention to detail. It’s not a massive place but they have really made the most of it and created a cosy atmosphere. Even the toilet was a pleasure to be in! You will have to go to see what I mean. Most outstanding is the staff. Reasonably busy, the staff still take time to chat to their customers. We had a pleasant conversation with one lady about our plans for the evening and our time in Edinburgh. The whole experience felt like having lunch with a friend in their living room.

I can’t wait to return here next time I come to Edinburgh and I will certainly be sampling the cakes next time! I get the feeling this place is going to be a must every time I’m in the fabulous city of Edinburgh.

Atmosphere 10/10
Quality 9/10
Service 10/10
Value 8.5/10
Unique 9/10
Overall 9.5/10

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

