Gin Festival

20161210_132741

Despite it being almost a month ago, I cannot stop talking about Gin Festival! For any gin lovers out there, it is an absolute must!

Okay so you walk in and give in your ticket, then you are greeted by someone who gives you a Gin Festival glass containing a pen, a book and a badge. Even this bit got me excited! Then you go and exchange your money for tokens. Tokens cost £5 each and will get you a gin and tonic. So I got my tokens and I look forward to see several bars covered in gin and I cannot wait to get started! However, my friends who have done this before and are all somewhat of a pro, advised me that you should hit the samples first. Well I thought I had died and gone to heaven. I make my way over to the samples, immediately see my local favourites Slingsby and Masons. For those of you that don’t know, Slingsby Rhubarb gin is amazing! I also tried a gin that was made from tomatoes and a delightful Christmas flavoured one. There were probably about 5 or 6 different stands offering free samples.

Next to the sample areas, there were several food vendors, I knew already they were going to come in handy after a few token spends! So it came to the time to sit down and look at the gin book. This book was awesome!

20161210_132841

Inside this book lies all the different gins arranged in order of the bars at the festival! The festival had different bars dedicated to different types of gin and gin liqueurs. It was basically a glossary of gin and it even told you which Fever Tree tonic to match it with. This brings me on to the next little nugget of amazingness…….

20170105_215054

That, my friends, is a table full of Fever Tree mixers! You get your gin, then just walk over there and take one. Mind-blowing. So you look in the gin book and it tells you about the gins and then you go to the bar and you ask for your gin and swap it for a token. The bars were fantastic! Underneath each bottle of gin was an accompanying garnish. It was all just so beautiful!

20170105_215158

All I can say is, if you get the opportunity to go to a Gin Festival then snap it up. I can’t wait to go to another one!

Leave a Reply

