Little Tokyo, Leeds

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Little Tokyo is one of the many hidden gems in Leeds. Tucked away behind House of Fraser, if you found yourself walking that way, you could be forgiven for walking straight past it. You would do better not to though.

The place itself is truly unique, with traditional seating and  big bridge over a fish pond. The atmosphere and setting transports you to a world well away from the back streets of Leeds City Centre. Occasionally on Friday and Saturday evenings you might even catch sight of the staff wearing strange costumes and fighting with light sabers. An unusual event and not quite fitting with the tranquil setting, but hey if that’s what they want to do, then why not!?

I have been here several times and the food never disappoints! I generally always go for my usual, Dim Sum Sui Mai with sweet chilli sauce to start and Chicken Teriyaki Bento box. The chilli sauce that comes with the starter is incredible! I have also tried some of the sushi and noodles dishes and they have been gorgeous too. They also cater for vegetarians and vegans – not just token dishes but a decent selection. If you ask me, a Bento box is the way to go. It comes in a tray separated into sections. Each box comes with salad, tempura vegetables, rice with a seaweed topping and a section for your chosen main. The salad dressing is just beautiful! It is wonderfully tangy with a hint of ginger. The boxes come in at around £15 and I have never left anything other than bursting full! Great value for money in my opinion. Unfortunately the lighting in my photos do not do it justice. I’ve been here on several date nights (with my husband!), with small groups of friends and larger groups and the atmosphere has been spot on. Now I’ve been talking about it, I’ll be craving it until I go again!

Atmosphere 9/10
Quality 8/10
Service 7/10
Value 8/10
Unique 9/10
Overall 8.5/10

Leave a comment