Afternoon tea at Hotel Chocolat Roast and Conch Cafe, Leeds

When trawling round the shops in the freezing cold, it seems only right to stop off for a treat. What a decadent treat this was! Let’s start where everyone should, the sandwiches. The first thing to see is that the sandwiches are small, but he fillings were lovely and really different. My favourite was the chicken with cocoa nib aioli but they were all delicious! Unique fillings that I’ve not had in any other afternoon tea,  I just wanted more!

The scones. Oh the scones. Small but perfectly formed and most importantly, warm. They were chocolate orange flavour and the chocolate chips were all melty and oozy. I’m pretty sure those are the technical terms. The orange flavour is subtle but just enough. The jam is delicious. It’s really thick and fruity. I loved the touch of chocolate flavour cream. The banana bread was delicious and fluffy, I think it had cocoa bits in it but I ate it so fast I can’t be sure!

The top tire should be made up of chocolates and caramelised banana cheesecake. My husband doesn’t like cheesecake (and I still married him!) so we asked if his could be replaced with more chocolate, they happily obliged. They were so supportive of his needs that they forgot to include my cheesecake so they brought me some on a separate plate and said they had given us both extra chocolate. I was preparing for them to say they had to take some of the chocolate back, but I was pleasantly surprised. Instead they said not to worry if we couldn’t eat all the extra chocolate, they would wrap the rest up for us to take away. I felt a bit sick so I took them up on their offer but tried them later and they were delicious.

I think £25 per person is a little bit overpriced, especially when the website says £20 per person. I think the product itself is worth £15 per person but I would be happy to pay £18-20 for the uniqueness. The cafe itself is well decorated and overall a nice place to be, although the seats are a little too close together. The service was good overall except we did have to point out two separate mistakes. Overall, I would recommend it as a one off treat.

Atmosphere 8/10
Quality 8.5/10
Service 7.5/10
Value 7/10
Unique 8/10
Overall 7.5/10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

